Updates following B+LNZ annual meeting

// B+LNZ

This week B+LNZ released the results of voting on nine remits undertaken by levy payers as part of the annual meeting process. Recordings from the meeting are now available. Last week Kate Acland was announced as the new Board Chair.

image of southland past and present farmer director

Results of voting on remits

The results of voting on the remits were released ahead of a B+LNZ Board meeting to discuss its responses and next steps. While the results are non-binding, they are an indication of farmer sentiment and the Board must consider the results and show how it will respond. 

New Board Chair Kate Acland said: “The Board has already said it agrees with many of the remits or is already doing work towards what has been proposed but there are clearly areas where we need to do more. Farmers have raised some legitimate concerns – we are listening and acknowledge there’s always more B+LNZ could do to improve.”

While sentiment was fairly obvious on some of the remits, there was no clear consensus on the issue of remaining within He Waka Eke Noa. 

Acland says the Board has a lot to work through, particularly on emissions pricing and best-practice consultation and advocacy. It aims to provide an update on its next steps in the next couple of weeks. 

Read the full media release and access the remit results

Recordings from the annual meeting now available

The 2023 B+LNZ annual meeting was livestreamed for those who couldn’t attend in person and recordings from the day are now available on our event webpage. 

Access the recording here.

New Chair of B+LNZ announced

Following the annual meeting, the Board elected its new Chair, Northern South Island farmer director Kate Acland. 

Acland is B+LNZ’s first female Chair. 

Previous Chair Andrew Morrison’s term as a B+LNZ director concluded at the end of the meeting, following the election of Geoffrey Young as the new Southern South Island farmer director. 

Read the full media release.