Finalists announced in 2023 Beef + Lamb New Zealand Awards

// Awards

After a robust judging process, Beef + Lamb New Zealand (B+LNZ) is pleased to announce the finalists in the 2023 Beef + Lamb New Zealand Awards.

Lady smiling

B+LNZ CEO Sam McIvor says the judging team had a difficult task given the calibre of the entries in the eight award categories and, after much deliberation, came up with a list of finalists.  

“The judges commented about the quality of the entries which reflected the depth of talent, skills and knowledge within our red meat sector.” 

He says it has been a challenging year for many, so it is particularly important to take the time to recognise and celebrate the fantastic people, innovations and technologies within our sheep and beef industry. 

Mr McIvor said B+LNZ, along with Awards partner Farmlands and award category sponsors, is looking forward to hearing the winners announced at the Awards Dinner at Christchurch’s Te Pae Convention Centre on 19 October. 

“I hope anyone with an interest in the red meat sector, entrants, nominees and nominators will join the finalists and sponsors to celebrate excellence in our industry.” 

"This will be one of the industry events of the year – and not to be missed." 

Tickets for the Awards Dinner are available now at

The finalists are:

Ballance Agri-Nutrients Science and Research Award

  1. AgResearch Life Cycle Assessment Team (Ruakura)
  2. Forage Trials Willesden (Lincoln)
  3. Low Methane Sheep Genetics Programme (AgResearch Dunedin)

Datamars Livestock Technology Award

  1. Bidr Ltd (Hamilton)
  2. Cloud Yards Ltd (Hastings)
  3. Silver Fern Farms / Lynker Net Carbon Zero Mapping Tool (Dunedin)

Gallagher Innovative Farming Award

  1. Reata Ltd (Masterton)
  2. Repost Ltd (Nelson)
  3. Wharetoa Genetics (Balclutha)

Silver Fern Farms Market Leader Award

  1. Ongaha (Featherston)
  2. Pearl Veal (Christchurch)
  3. Verry Farming Ltd (Te Kuiti)

AgResearch Emerging Achiever Award

  1. Amy Hoogenboom (Oxford)
  2. James Robbie (Eketahuna)
  3. Harriet Watson (Christchurch)

Rabobank People Development Award

  1. Growing Future Farmers (Napier)
  2. New Zealand Rural Leadership Trust (Lincoln)
  3. Whangarei Agricultural and Pastoral Society Farm Intern Programme (Whangarei)

FMG Rural Champion Award

  1. Surfing for Farmers (Gisborne)
  2. Shepherdess (Levin)
  3. Greater Dipton Catchment Group (Dipton)

Alliance Significant Contribution Award

  1. Bob Cottrell (Taupo)
  2. Mike Petersen (Waipukurau)
  3. Tom Fraser (Christchurch) 


If you have any questions, please email: